"Two wonderful sunshine days welcomed the runners to the 20. Jungfrau Marathon, valid like 9. WMRA World Long Distance Mountain Running Challenge 2012, held at Interlaken, Switzerland.
6317 were in total the runners who finished races: 4868 men and 1449 women and more than two hundred runner did not arrived to the finish. A record of participants!
Medal table of the 9. WMRA World Long Distance Mountain Running Challenge 2012 saw USA with 4 medals (2 gold, 1 silver and 1 bronze) in the leader position, then Austria with 3 medals (1 each gold silver and bronze), Hosting Country Switzerland with 2 medals (1 gold and 1 silver), Slovenia with 1 silver medal and Germany and Kenya with 1 bronze each."

Continue reading


The mountain race at ,Bursa, Turkey, on September 23, 2012 was to be the ,Final race of the WMRA Grand Prix 2012 program, but ,was canceled due to organizational problems.
Within the next 24 hours, the ,WMRA ,will provide an update about the status of the Final race of the WMRA Grand Prix 2012 which will be promptly posted on the ,on the ,WMRA , ,webpage.

"The 33. Smarna Gora International race will the Final race of the WMRA Grand Prix 2012.
Due to the cancellation of the Inaugural Bursa International race, WMRA Council member Tomo Sarf, with the support of Slovenian Athletic Federation and LOC of the event, offered to stage the Final WMRA Grand Prix race on October 6, 2012, at the 33rd Smarna Gora International race.
The Smarna Gora International race has previously hosted the WMRA Grand Prix final event with much success and with this positive relationship and history in mind, the WMRA Council unanimously accepted Smarna Gora as the venue for the final WMRA Grand Prix event 2012.
Ljubljiana, Slovenia looks forward to hosting the top mountain runners for this important international WMRA event on Saturday, 6. October 2012.

"The International Smarna Gora Mountain Running Race remains one of the highlights of the mountain running season, and its rich tradition will continue on Saturday, October 6, with its 33rd edition.
After Turkish organizers in Bursa canceled what was to be the final race of the 2012 WMRA Grand Prix circuit, the Smarna Gora race organizing committee met and the decision was made to help the WMRA by again hosting this top class international mountain running event as the final race in the Grand Prix.
In spite of the change of the Grand Prix final race date -- from September 22 to October 6 -- and a different type of mountain course -- up/down vs uphill, the WMRA Grand Prix final will attract many top runners to the slopes of Smarna gora.

Continue reading

© World Mountain Running Association
Quai Antoine 1er.
BP359 MC 98007

Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Staff Login | Website Developed by: I'm The Black Sheep